Symposium and Summer School on:
Nano and Giga Challenges in Microelectronics
Research and Opportunities in Russia
Moscow, September 10-13, 2002
Nano & Giga 2002
Nano & Giga 2004
Web Site
SWN2003 Workshop
Phoenix, AZ
Moscow Visitor Tips
Laptop Setup Tips
Purchase Book
of Abstracts
Abstract Submission
MEE issue
CMS issue
Instructions for Authors
Meeting Profile
Conference Program
Nano & Giga Challenges
Summer School
September 10-11, 2002

Reception/Poster Session
Phys @ Moscow U
Nano & Giga Symposium
September 12-13, 2002

Satellite Symposium
Software Development
September 15-16, 2002

Home Page
Pay Registration Fee
with a Credit Card
Food and More
City Transportation
Social Program
Visa and Travel Info
Contact Information
Financial Aid
Useful Links
For Organizers Use

The 7th Nano & Giga Challenges Symposium and School (NGC2017) will be held in Tomsk, Russia (September 18-22, 2017) hosted by Tomsk State University. Please, mark your calendar for our next meeting and visit NGC2017 web site for information and registration.

Conference Overview

An essential enabler of the future information society -- microelectronics -- is a field at the threshold of a new phase, requiring radical innovations in materials and processes. The next generations of technology will only be possible when significant progress in physics, chemistry, material sciences, and other related disciplines, is achieved by scientists working in this field.

Microelectronics evolved successfully following the Moore's law, by reducing the scale of the components and achieving improvements in all parameters of its products, such as performance, functionality, and cost. The next stages, involving nanometric scale structures, and integration levels in the range of billion of transistors on a chip, present a number of unprecedented challenges in their practical realization, and require new materials, new technologies in photolithography and semiconductor processing, new devices, and new design strategies. Last but not least, financial challenges which stem from exploding cost of manufacturing facilities have to be contained, even though they eventually allow for unit cost reductions.

Russia, with its large intellectual potential, its outstanding education system, and its strong scientific tradition, is in the position to bring a significant contribution toward solving these challenges. This meeting is dedicated to bringing together scientists and engineers from academia, industry and national labs to discuss recent achievements and potential for collaborative efforts in solving the most challenging scientific and engineering problems in microelectronics. The leaders in the field are also invited to present tutorial lectures outline current status, and venture into emerging prospects in the most advanced and newly formed areas of microelectronics such as:

  • atomic scale design: theory and experiment
  • highest frequency electronics
  • fabrication of nanodevices
  • magnetic materials and spintronics
  • materials and processes for integrated and subwave optoelectronics
  • molecular electronics
  • nanotubes and clusters: wires and other devices
  • new materials for gate and dielectrics in FETs
  • non-silicon materials and devices
  • quantum effects in devices
  • system design technologies

Digital DNA Lab Motorola Russian Research Center Kurchatov Institute
Nuclear Cities Initiative Nuclear Threat Initiative
Moscow State University International Science & Technology Center
Elsevier Science European Office of Aerospace Research and Development United States Air Force
Russian Federal Nuclear Center (VNIIEF) Russian Foundation for Basic Research
Office of Naval Research KINTECH -- Kinetic Technologies
Ohio Supercomputer Center  

Click on Speakers on the left navigation bar for the list of speakers and titles.

Evgeniy Velikhov (Kurchatov Institute, Russia) Andreas Wild (Motorola, Germany)

Organizing and Technical Program Committee:
Boris Aronzon Alexander Bagatur'yants Gennadi Bersuker
Vladimir Betelin Dmitry Borisov Evgeniya Davidova
Alex Demkov Rickey Faehl Konstantin Golant
Alexey Golubev Jim Greer Evgeniy Gusev
Pavel Kashkarov Anatoli Korkin (co-chairman) Jan Labanowski (webmaster)
Maria Oseeva (manager) Dmitry Panfilov Boris Potapkin (co-chairman)
Doug Resnick Irene Rybakova Elena Shulakova
Alex Volinsky Alexander Vul' Alexander Zakharov
Yekaterina Zikeeva    

Scientific and Advisory Board
Michail Alfimov Vitaliy Aristov Rick Brzozowy
Evgeniy Dianov Edward Hall Takeo Hattori
Siegfried Hecker Radiy Il'kayev William Johnson
Sergey Kozlov Carl Kutche Gerald Lucovsky
Evgeniy Meilikhov (co-chairman) Marius Orlowski (co-chairman) David Pappas
Vladimir Rusanov Paul Siffert Jim Toevs
Steve Watson    

Empowered by Nano & Giga Solutions and NT-MDT